Personal Database Sampling

“My Big Fat Croatian Wedding” follows the bride-to-be, Jennifer, as she embarks on her journey of finding forever love. It is set at her parents house, where the whole family is eagerly waiting to meet her fiancé, Nick, who happens to NOT be Croatian and NOT eat meat…

Jennifer: So, you ready for this? Get your game face on! They can tend to be a bit overwhelming. Oh hey guys, this is-

Nick: Um..yeah? Wait um…

Family: NIICHOLAAA! MAUH! MUAH! MUAH!

Nick: Haha. Uhh hello! Nice to meet you all..

tumblr_n1f7v6G4jA1slnytho4_400

tumblr_n1f7v6G4jA1slnytho3_400

Jennifer: Wait! Please slow down guys; you’re going to scare him!

tumblr_n1f7v6G4jA1slnytho2_400

Jennifer: Oh geez! I guess not. Well thanks for not freaking him out at all..

** FLASHBACK**

tumblr_mpledcQPUl1r1orlfo1_500

Growing up, I always knew I was different from all the other girls at school. While the popular girls were blonde and petite, I was a six-year-old with sideburns and an unibrow.

tumblr_mpledcQPUl1r1orlfo4_500

And, while they went to brownies and ate their wonder bread sandwiches, I was stuck going to Croatian school and eating stews that could have been mistaken for ‘poop.’

tumblr_mpledcQPUl1r1orlfo7_500

tumblr_mpledcQPUl1r1orlfo8_500

tumblr_mpledcQPUl1r1orlfo6_500

The Croatian culture has always been very traditional, where the woman stays home with the kids and the man works to support the family.

tumblr_msxyl6pCQq1qki66fo1_500

tumblr_msxyl6pCQq1qki66fo2_500

My tata (dad) has been telling me that since I was 15 years old. I felt like I had a constant reminder flashing in my mind, “Get married; make babies.”

tumblr_lq46ncAMT11qzdkol-1 tumblr_lq46njOh941qzdkol

But now that I have Nick, he’s finally backed off a bit with the constant reminder of marriage and kids. I can enjoy being engaged, without the family or tata interfering… Pshh, who am I kidding? My family’s always going to be there, whether it’s to support me, give me advice, or just drive me crazy. I will always love because I know I can always count on them. But now I have Nick too.. Hmm speaking of Nick…

** REAL-LIFE **

tumblr_mte1upNPVF1qki66fo1_500

Jennifer: So, I hear my cousins taught you a new phrase in Croatian? Haha…

Nick: I’m never listening to those guys again! I thought I was telling everyone, ‘lets go inside for dinner.’

Jennifer: Haha. No worries, mama (mom) and everyone else already knows it was them. Anyways, we can’t let the small stuff get to us; sometimes in life, we just need a good laugh. Now, you ready for Aunt Tula’s ‘special non-meat’ lamb?!

tumblr_mogt6cgmXy1rsfk85o1_500

You’ve got to love the crazy aunt!

Leave a comment